my safe place for anxiety

I have been thinking of a safe place for when I have an anxiety attack.  I need a place I can go in my mind that will comfort me.  I have been imaging that Granddaddy was my safe place.  I could go to his house and he would listen and fix cinnamon bread.  Even when he was sick he would listen and sometimes he would just let us sit together.  But he is with God now.  Without him sometimes I feel unbalanced.  Reality is altered and I haven’t quite adjusted even after 4 years.  I need a new safe place- a stable safe place.  Then today, the answer was given in my not-so-daily Bible reading.

Psalm 91:1-2 Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. This I declare about the Lord: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety;  he is my God, and I trust him. 

Psalm 91: 9-11 If you make the Lord your refuge,  if you make the Most High your shelter, no evil will conquer you; no plague will come near your home. For he will order his angels     to protect you wherever you go. 

 The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me.  I will protect those who trust in my name.

Leave a Reply

