Good Grief

I wrote the following paragraphs in my journal 7 years ago.  Since then I have dealt with even much greater grief that has threatened to pull me under.  I would double over in physical pain of grief.  But even so, I have trusted in my Lord and He has kept my feet on solid ground.  I found this typed and saved in an old folder marked “Good Grief”. It was an expression my mother in law used frequently in her last years of life.  I thought it was time to share:

“Master, the tempest is raging. The billows are tossing high. The sky is o’re shadowed with blackness, the winds and the waves are nigh. Carest Thou not that we perish? How canst Thou lie asleep, when each moment the darkness is threatening a grave in the angry deep?”

The past few months have seemed like I was on a boat in a storm. I knew God was there with me, but I was screaming in my heart: God, don’t you care that there’s rough water? Don’t you care that I feel like I’m drowning in sorrow and worry? How can You lie there asleep when Your child You profess to love so much is struggling?” As I cried in the shower one morning, God gave me an answer with a song He put on my heart. I began to sing broken and off key.

“The winds and the waves shall obey they will, peace, be still. Whether the wrath or the stormed tossed sea, or demons or men, whatever it be, no water can swallow the ship where lies, the King the Master of earth and skies. They all shall sweetly obey Thy will. Peace, be still, peace, be still. They all shall sweetly obey Thy will. Peace, peace, be still.”

“Be still”, God said, “and know that I am God.”

Leave a Reply

