A Kind Wife…a real Proverbs 31 woman

God, help me to remember to always be like Mary and pay attention to what is important in life: loving You with all my heart, and loving the family You have blessed me with. Thank You for this encouraging family who has shared words that I can hear coming from my own husband’s heart. Amen.

I have a hard time with comparisons. I do not live up to the great high standards of Pinterest moms or the Proverbs 31 woman. It would be great to be able to serve home cooked healthy dinners all the time, to work and make money on my own from the home, to wake up early and stay up late tending to things, to be creative and have the energy to follow through with completing a creative project (not to mention keeping little hands out of said project and out of pantry doors and off the mantle and…). Yeah, all those things would be great. And, there would be plenty of time for basking in the presence of God daily, right? Even one of those things can send me into a spiral thinking of what a good mommy I SHOULD be. But, in reality, I cannot compare myself to others. I can only compare myself to a holy God. There. That does it. I am totally doomed. Totally dependant on my Jesus. And, that is a great place to be.

Im getting off the subject a litte. This article was such a great encouragement to me, even though as I looked at this sweet lady’s blog I fought the urge to think of myself as inferior. After all, look at all she is sacrificing for the Lord. And she looks amazing after 5 kids, even in the remote areas of the mission field. But its not about that. Its about a humble love for God. It reminded me that not only is it easy to get caught up in the stuff of life, but it is easy for my to judge myself by it. Christians are supposed to be known for their love. And, what was so special about reading these words that this husband wrote back to her, was that I could hear my own husband saying these things. In different ways throughout our almost 11 years together he has told me that the stuff doesnt matter, but my heart does.

My idea of burning the candle at both ends is working hard to sleep consistently from 10-6 so I can stay sane.  My ability to make money comes from keeping the kids out of daycare.  My creativity shows up when I print out pictures and tape them in a scrapbook (and I am behind a couple of years with that).  But, my children are hiding the word of God in their heart and my husband loves me intensely with a Godly love.  What could be greater?
http://gracefullmama.com/a-kind-wife-2/

Leave a Reply

