Depvelopmental- Behavioral Pediatrician

When did i last update on our minor special needs? After I found out about this kind of Pediatrician from the Resource Center at Vanderbilt? I have called in a referal to get an appointment. Today I was told that if the concerns are only Sensory Perception Disorder then they would refer me to an OT instead of putting me on the waiting list for the Developmental Pediatrician. Ahhh! Something kind of flipped in me. I told this lady who probabably has no authority whatsoever the whole long story and explained my fear of getting stuck going back in circles. She said my primary care physician would need to send a referal and they could fax it to her. But way back when i first had concerns I spoke to the primary care physican who recommended TEIS/ Early Intervention/ and remember the R.I.P? That got me at least into the OT in the first place which has been helpful but there is a long way to go. There are still many concerns even after more than a year of therapy. So, I called the PCP to put my updated concerns on record for when she gets the fax. I am hoping for an Aspergers’ test and behavior wise I would like a doctor who seems to know what the heck is going on. I am not one to blame behavior on other things- people are responsible for their actions, period. But I know, call it mommy instincts or whatever, that there is something that makes it harder for my sweet girl to control her actions and I would think in our culture people would be fighting to diagnose her with some crazy affliction that can be her get out of jail free card (or maybe I’ve just watched too much Law adn Order). That is not the case though. In the mean time, while we wait for a diagnosis, we will continue to teach her to control her actions as best as we can and we will love her with all that we have. We are so blessed that God entrusted her to our care adn we will fight with her to get her the top help available.

Leave a Reply

